Reflection No. 2

I am going to use this opportunity to write about a blog that I use to keep up with more obscure contemporary fiction. Biblioklept is run by Edwin Turner, an English professor, and on it he previews and reviews both new and old titles, creates book lists, and sprinkles a bit of art in for good measure. He’ll post short stories and sections from books as well. I’ve been following his blog since I discovered it 4 years ago and it has directed me to quite a few authors that I love.

The About page is a good introduction to the site. He links to a collection of his book reviews as well as interviews he’s done with authors and it gives you a good idea of what the site is about. The real fun starts with the About You section. This could leave you finding the site tedious and self-important, or it could get you thinking about literature, reading, and a whole host of other things.

Here is an example of a book review of his. He combines snippets of the text with context and plot that offers a good introduction to a book. I find it quite helpful when deciding if this is something I would be interested in reading

This site certainly isn’t for everyone, but if you like it, you just might get sucked in like I have.

Leave a Reply

